The European continent will be responsible for 13 teams at the World Cup 2022 tournament in Qatar and ten teams have been confirmed for the tournament thus leaving the remaining three places for 12 teams via the playoffs. These 12 teams,including current European champions Italy and immediate past European champions Portugal, will have to go through the playoffs.

As revealed earlier ten teams from the European section are through to the World Cup 2022 tournament on Qatari soil and they are former champions England, Germany, Spain and France.  It is important to point out that France are the defending champions after beating Croatia 4-2 in the final to seal a second title after the 1998 title triumph on home soil. Manchester United midfielder Paul Pogba, Atletico Madrid attacker Antoine Griezmann and Paris Saint Germain (PSG) star KylianMbappe were all on target for the French team in that final.

Croatia are the reigning World Cup finalists from the last edition in Russia three years ago and they are also through to the World Cup 2022 tournament alongside Serbia, Denmark, Switzerland, Netherlands and Belgium.

The teams in second place from the ten groups in the European qualifiers will have to fight for a spot at next year’s World Cup alongside Austria and the Czech Republic. Both the Czech Republic and Austria sealed their playoff slots by winning their groups in the UEFA Nations League.

As revealed earlier, Portugal and Italy are in the playoffs. The other teams for the playoffs are Wales, Scotland, Ukraine, Turkey and Russia. The other teams are Sweden, North Macedonia and Poland.

The top six teams from the 12 teams for the playoffs have been seeded, while the remaining six teams are unseeded ahead of the draw later this month. Three teams have to emerge from the playoffs to join the ten teams who have sealed automatic qualification.

Leave a Reply